Tom Morello Announces New Album 'The Atlas Underground,' Shares Two Tracks

Tom Morello has had a notable career. He began his journey in the music industry as the founding guitarist of Rage Against the Machine, was part of the Chris Cornell-led Audioslavemerged the two together with Prophets of Ragehad an acoustic solo project called The Nightwatchman and hip-hop side project Street Sweeper Social ClubHe even used to be a touring member of Bruce Springsteen's E Street Band. Now, the 54-year-old is starting a new solo project under his own name and on Thursday (July 26) announced a new album, The Atlas Underground.

Due out October 12, the album finds the veteran collaborating with a star-studded cast of hip-hop, EDM, and rock heavyweights including Killer Mike, Big Boi, RZA, GZA, Bassnectar, Portugal. The Man, Gary Clark Jr., Steve Aoki, and more.

“The riffs and the beats led the way, but the extraordinary talents of the collaborators set my creativity into uncharted territory. I’ve been devoted both musically and as an activist to fighting injustice at every turn.” Morello explained in a statement. “Amid this heightened sense of impending doom, it’s now time to rally the troops in a last-ditch effort to save the planet, and our artistic souls. By challenging the boundaries of what music is and has sounded like before, you can open people’s eyes to changing the status quo in society.”

Along with the announcement, Morello released two songs from the album, "We Don't Need You" featuring Vic Mensa and "Battle Sirens" featuring Knife Party. Listen to them both below.

Photo: Getty Images

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content